K-12 Tuition Free Public School

Student Support

Michele Bowes
Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment (CIA) Director
Email: michele.bowes@scvi-k12.org


Michele is thrilled to be a returning member of the SCVi team—this year, in a leadership position as director overseeing curriculum, instruction, and assessment. This is Michele’s second year at SCVi. Last year, she co-facilitated the 3rd grade community. Michele holds a bachelor’s degree in elementary education, a master’s in curriculum and instruction, and a master’s in reading and language arts. She also holds Clear Administrative Services, Clear Specialist Instruction-Reading, and Clear California Professional Multiple Subject Credentials. Prior to joining SCVi, Michele served as a principal for six years and prior to that, a vice principal for a year and a half. She has taught in kindergarten, 1st,  3rd, 4th, 5th and 8th grades, as well as served as a reading specialist. She has received numerous accolades, including Teacher of the Year and Los Angeles County Bilingual Directors’ Outstanding Administrator. Michele is the proud mom of daughter Kylie, who will be part of SCVi’s first graduating class of seniors this school year. In her free time, she enjoys swimming, reading, and painting.


Theresa D'Ambrosio
Special Education Counselor

Email: theresa.dambrosio@scvi-k12.org











 
Theresa has been a school counselor since 2008, working previously with the Castaic Union School District as their DIS counselor. She is excited about working at SCVi three days a week this year. Theresa will be continuing to work with DIS students, assisting those with special needs as well as students who need additional support. She will also be a part of the student advisory team and looks forward to connecting with both learners and parents. Theresa is a graduate of Long Beach University. She received a master's degree in educational counseling from University of La Verne with a credential to counsel K-12. Theresa is married and has one daughter.



Tracy Hagemeier
School Psychologist

Email: tracy.hagemeier@scvi-k12.org











Tracy is proud to serve as SCVi's school psychologist. She is currently working on her dissertation and plans to complete her doctorate in educational psychology from Alliant University this December. Tracy is married with a son. Outside of work, she loves to read mysteries and cook. Tracy is attracted to SCVi for the tremendous opportunity to work with all learners and families, not just those in special education.


Nora Simko
Speech Therapist
Email: nora.simko@scvi-k12.org
*photo and bio coming soon*


Carolina Jimenez
School Nurse 
Email: 
carolina.jimenez@scvi-k12.org

Carolina is thrilled to be the school nurse at SCVi. For the past two years, she has served as our school special circumstances aide. Prior to that, she spent four years working for the Los Angeles Unified School District as a teachers assistant for the 2nd grade retention program. Carolina grew up in a gang-ridden area of and was shot in the arm as a child. After becoming a teen mom, she worked hard to create a good life by graduating from high school and putting herself through nursing school. She is now the proud mom of three children who enjoy playing baseball and soccer. Her oldest is in marching band and jazz band. Her husband is a police officer. Carolina says she loves working with kids and that she used to dream of being a school nurse. "My dream finally came true," she says.



Jody Kirby
Ed Specialist
Email: jody.kirby@scvi-k12.org
Jody has been a teacher since 1990, with most of those years spent as a private reading tutor and substitute teacher. She is a founding parent and began at SCVi as a parent volunteer and substitute teacher. That role has grown, and she is now the education specialist for grades K-6. She is currently pursuing her master’s degree in special education at California Lutheran University. Jody is excited to be a part of the adventure that is SCVi! She enjoys her role supporting students, making their education more accessible, and allowing them to find success in the general education classroom. Jody has 2 children attending SCVi. While not in school, Jody enjoys family time, cooking, fun and activities.


Irma Breakfield
Upper School Counselor
Email: irma.breakfield@scvi-k12.org
Irma is part of SCVi's upper school advisory team that is committed to supporting our learners in successfully applying to college. It is a critical role considering that SCVi will have its very first graduating class of seniors in 2014. Irma is quite familiar with what it takes to be successful at SCVi. She is a founding family member with two learners and was originally drawn to the school after reading its mission statement. She wanted an education for her children that encompassed their whole self. A California native who loves to dance in her free time, Irma has practiced as a licensed Marriage Family Therapist for more than 25 years. Additionally, she has spent 20 years working in the area of college access with One Voice, a non-profit agency that helps highly gifted, low-income students in LAUSD to not only get into college, but also to graduate. Irma has also worked as an adjunct faculty member at the University of Phoenix where she instructs graduate psychology students. She is an adoption social worker as well. She feels like part of her mission in life is to help individuals remember their greatness and support them in their life journey, whether that is by helping students get into college or by helping to form families through adoption.



Gris Ibarra
Student Services Coordinator
Email: gris.ibarra@scvi-k12.org

Danijela Kuric
Attendance

Email: danijela.kuric@scvi-k12.org

Karlyn Johnson
Student Support

Email: karlyn.johnson@scvi-k12.org

Jody Blin
Student Support

Email: jody.blin@scvi-k12.org

Melissa Brimigion
Student Support

Email: melissa.brimigion@scvi-k12.org

Megan Courtney
Student Support

Email: megan.courtney@scvi-k12.org

Andrew Estrada
Student Support

Email: andrew.estrada@scvi-k12.org

Mallory Fencil
Student Support

Email: mallory.fencil@scvi-k12.org

Lisa Olivera
Student Support

Email: lisa.olivera@scvi-k12.org

Dana Schmidt
Student Support

Email: dana.schmidt@scvi-k12.org

Colleen Shanahan
Student Support

Email: colleen.shanahan@scvi-k12.org

Sabra Murphy
Student Support

Email: sabra.murphy@scvi-k12.org